Book now

History

Once upon a time…

In 1724 a visionary by the name of Nicolas Chatoney invested in a lakeside estate just outside of Murten. It remained in the family for more than two-and-a-half centuries until a descendent known as Laure Mallet-Chatoney, captivated by the picturesque countryside and the mesmerising sunsets, decided to have a summer residence built in 1906-1907 for him and his wife.

The high-quality villa was, at the time, one of the most modern residences in the canton of Fribourg. The English style, with which it was imbued, can be seen in the functional interior amenities and the picturesque, playful exterior. Until the 1950s its garden house served as a garage for the owner’s cars before it became the restaurant known as „La Pinte du Vieux Manoir“. From its early days, La Pinte du Vieux Manoir maintained a traditional sense of hospitality.

After the Second World War, the heirs of the Chatoney family sold the property and La Pinte du Vieux Manoir was discovered by a hotelier and architect in the mid-1950s and converted into a luxury hotel retreat. Since then it has been home to countless guests from all over the world who have enjoyed its hospitality and who have been captivated by its charm.

Latest News